The Golden Rule in 235 pages…

by jasmine

My July book recommendation: “How to Win Friends & Influence People” by Dale Carnegie.

As a recent college grad with no actual public relations experience, I was looking for ways to stay educated and up-to-date with the PR basics and evolving trends.  Browsing a Barnes and Noble bookstore, I used my iphone to Google (I love that we can use that as a legit verb and no one thinks twice about it) “PR books” – and the first result to pop up was the PR Channel’s, “6 Must-Read Books for PR People,” and listed was Dale Carnegie’s, How to Win Friends & Influence People.  I thought I was going to be reading an instructive textbook that would give me some basic tips for my future PR success…YAWN.  What I ended up getting was so much more fulfilling than that.  Not just a book for the professional seeking helpful tips to success, but a lifestyle guide for building effective relationships not just within your professional sphere, but also within your personal social circles.  It’s a book that’s really so much more than it deserves to be.  I had dog-eared nearly every single page, and ran out of ink in my highlighter by the time I completed it.  I wish it could be published pocket-sized, so that I could take it everywhere.

Dale breaks down the book into 4 parts with each part focusing on key principles to consider.  The book was first published in 1937, and its text remains as relevant today as it was 75+ years ago.  A wonderful conversational tone and anecdotes aid in illustrating real-life circumstances when the principles discussed are actually applied.  Dale has neatly laid out a friendly and informal explanation of commonsense.  Something we are all very aware of in theory, but never seem to quite hone in on in practice.  I give my written word that this a book that will not collect dust on the shelf.  It’s one that you will want to go back to time and time again.

“Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain – and most fools do.  But it takes character and self-control to be understanding and forgiving.”

