As we head into the weekend, a regard for our indulgence…

by jasmine

….In moderation.  We’ve all heard the mantra before, particularly as it pertains to healthy eating, but as I continue to discover, it’s truly a way of living as a whole.  We live in an age of excess and instant gratification – a lethal combination.  The more we get, the more we want…the quicker, the better.  Our consumption constantly accelerates as we try to grasp satisfaction, affirmation, and validation.  And yet, we are never able to grab a hold of those things because we lack resolve; we lack patience.  True satisfaction has longevity.  Could it be that what we are actually experiencing from our excessive habits are merely bouts of relief?  We never seem to be truly satisfied, so what’s the point of our gluttonous consumption?  Like a badly developed plotline, our decadence is ultimately anticlimactic.

“Excess on occasion is exhilarating. It prevents moderation from acquiring the deadening effect of habit.”  – W. Somerset Maugham

If I could co-sign my name next to Maugham’s I would.  This perspective absolutely true.  By practice, I’m a bit of a health nut – no carbs, meats or sweets during the average week.  I’m all about whole grains, Greek yogurt, natural sweeteners like honey and agave nectar; fresh, organic fruits and veggies…and artichoke hearts…I HEART THEM.  But when the weekend comes, I make sure to engage in my weekly Saturday or Sunday brunches, and wine and dine with friends.  I pay no attention to price, calorie count, or whether or not it’s even a healthy option.  I go balls to the walls.  I call it a reward for my discipline throughout the week.  And once more, I appreciate the finer side of indulgence so much more than if I were to quench my every thirst.

But, NEVER deprive yourself of whatever it is your body, mind, or spirit is telling you it wants.  Don’t ignore it.  It’s called, Equilibrium.  It can be difficult to acquire and maintain, but once you do, you’ll be satiated.  Indulgence in moderation doesn’t just become a special treat on occasion.  It’s ultimately an experience that lingers until your next experience.

So, treat yourself this weekend and savor it!

-Jasmine

P.S. – If you like the photography used in this entry, please take the time to visit my friend, Eddie Louis’ photography website.  He’s a photog wunderkind!

