Sunday Brunch: It’s not a meal, it’s a verb.

by jasmine

If breakfast is the most important meal of any day, then my weekly brunches are an absolute vital necessity to the wellness of my life. If you’re not already in tune with my habits, I’m quite the health nut; a stickler is probably more accurate. I’ve got a crazy busy schedule, and I’m an all-around “Type A” personality. So, every weekend, I make it a point to take a Saturday or Sunday to do brunch. For me, “brunch” is not simply an extended breakfast taking you into lunchtime. It’s an experience; a lifestyle; a verb. Brunch allows for “me” time and a little indulgence, which is why I tend to brunch solo.

Sunday Brunch began today at 10 a.m. at my favorite eatery, La Iguana. My perfect brunch dish commences with the “Popular” latte – a white chocolate raspberry mocha – paired with a freshly baked raspberry scone. And the star, main dish: Eggs Benedict with a Southwest flair. Two delicately poached eggs atop a bed of hanger steak, onions and red bell peppers, all intricately placed on two English muffins and smothered in a paprika-seasoned Hollandaise sauce that marries all of the beautiful flavors together. And to make sure there was a “healthy” element on the plate, I opted for a side of freshly organic seasonal fruit.

Next, brunch took me to Barnes & Noble, where I aimlessly browsed the bookshelves until one cover caught my eye: “Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently” by John C. Maxwell. Again, if you’re not familiar, I’m a networking/connecting fiend. I’ve got an insatiable fascination with human connection, ergo, the book made for an exemplary purchase.

Following, brunch continued onto a solo movie venture: Crazy, Stupid, Love. Honestly, I had no idea what to expect from this movie. It was the cast that caused my ears to perk up with interest. A rom-com with unbridled charm and visceral heart starring Steve Carrell, Julianne Moore, Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, along with a supporting cast of characters that delivered in spades. It’s definitely worth the ticket price by my barometer.

Now, as the weekend comes to a close, and the workweek descends upon us, I feel rejuvenated and ready to kick some ass, and take down some names in the process. So, how do you brunch? And if you’re not already doing it, perhaps it’s something to consider.

-Jasmine

