Wear Your Name Proud & Speak It Loud

by jasmine

During my stint as a PR assistant for the ABQ Film Festival, I was on the phone pitching to a guy manning the news desk at a local TV station.  I could tell by his tepid tone that he had no interest (and probably no time) in hearing what I had to say, but he let me run my spiel anyways.  At the end of our conversation, he requested my contact info.  He had asked me to repeat my name and I complied.

In my attempt to sound even remotely witty (which I am not), I said very clearly, “Jasmine, like the princess.”

The man chuckled and replied, “You keep that attitude up, young lady.”

And suddenly, his tone changed.  His voice sounded friendlier, and I recognized that he became more present in the conversation and wanted to know more about the event I had been pitching.

Just moments before, he was probably on the other end of the line rolling his eyes and doodling on a notepad, ready to tell me anything that would get me to shut up.

But as soon as I gave him my name, in such a manner in which I knew he wouldn’t forget it – confident with a little spunk – he became more cooperative and engaged.

It was Dale Carnegie who wrote, “Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.”  Whether we’re conscious to it or not, we’re always flattered when an acquaintance remembers us by name; or slightly deflated when they don’t.

This experience was a revelation for me, as clichéd as that might sound.  I’ve never given my name much thought, until that phone conversation.  What I learned was that we need to own our name; give people a reason to remember it.  When we’re savvy to the individual behind the name, that moniker is entirely theirs – or ours rather.

Wearing your name proud, and speaking it loud gives the sense that you’re confident and you know who you are.   Consequently, that confidence and that clarity make you credible.   When people can identify your name, it can positively affect how you connect with those people.

Eminem staked his claim when he simply said, “Hi, my name is…,” introducing us to his infamous alter ego, Slim Shady.  Alyson Hannigan sealed the deal when she ordered Jason Biggs to “say my name, bitch!” in American Pie.  And the title character of the series, My Name Is Earl, upheld his name by righting all his wrongs.

Don’t be just another John or Jane Doe.  Don’t let that awkward moment when your name doesn’t have its own keychain bum you out.   Own your name.  Define it.  And be proud of it.

